EUROPEAN UNION FOR PROGRESSIVE JUDAISM

Minutes of a Meeting of the European Assembly of the European Union for Progressive Judaism (EUPJ) held at the Beth Hillel Synagogue/International Jewish Center, 80 Rue des Primeurs, B-1190 Brussels, Belgium at 13H00 on Sunday 11 November 2018.

Present: Chair of EUPJ Sonja Guentner and the other Honorary Officers and representatives of various Constituent Members of EUPJ, as well as invitees, as follows: Jai Anguita (Bet Shalom) Spain, Rabbi Pauline Bebe (CJL Paris) France, Stéphane Beder (AJL) France, Leslie Bergman (EUPJ) United Kingdom, Joyce Bigio (FIEP) Italy, Ralph Bogo (Progressive Jewish Community) Norway, Steve Brummel (IJC) Belgium, Arthur Buchman (Shir Hatzafon) Denmark, John Clark (Or Chadasch) Austria, Yael Cobano (Reform Jewish Community of Madrid) Spain, John Cohen (EUPJ) United Kingdom, Noeleen Cohen (Alyth Synagogue) United Kingdom, Bill Echikson (EU Office/IJC) Belgium, Darryl Egnal (EUPJ) Israel, Ben Fantini (FIEP) Italy, Rabbi Dr Andrew Goldstein (Liberal Judaism & NPLS) United Kingdom, Rabbi Alexander Grodensky (Liberal Jewish Community Esch-sur-Alzette) Luxembourg, Tamás Gróf (Bet Orim) Hungary, Miriam Kramer (EUPJ) United Kingdom, Gilbert Lederman (Beth Hillel) Belgium, Deborah Malamud (Bet Shalom) Spain, David Miller (Or Hadasz Krakow) Poland, Nathan Muntz (Beth Hillel) Belgium, Celia Naval (Keren Or) France, Frank Neiber (Beth Hillel) Belgium, Rabbi Marc Neiger (Beth Hillel) Belgium, Felipe Ojeda (Bet Shalom) Spain, Rabbi Dr René Pfertzel (ERA/Kingston Liberal Synagogue) United Kingdom, Maria Prieto (Bet Shalom) Spain, Gordon Smith (EUPJ) United Kingdom, Judy Smith (EUPJ) United Kingdom, Carole Sterling (WUPJ) Canada, Rabbi Jackie Tabick EUPJ/EBD) United Kingdom, Adrian Tellwright (York Liberal Jewish Community) United Kingdom, Rabbi Menno ten Brink (EUPJ/Dutch Union for Progressive Judaism) Netherlands, Rabbi Dr Edward van Voolen (Abraham Geiger Kolleg) Germany, Hannah Verhulst (Dutch Union for Progressive Judaism) Netherlands, Jesse Weil (Sim Shalom) Hungary, Robert Weiner (Reform Judaism) United Kingdom, Ruth Weiner (Alyth Synagogue) United Kingdom, Jonathan Wootliff (Bejt Simcha / ZLU), Czech Republic.

1. Apologies for Absence

The Chair reported apologies received from Ruth Cohen and Jeffery Rose, Honorary Life Presidents, as well as from David Bernstein, Rabbi Danny Freelander, Deborah Grabiner, David Pollak, Michael Reik, Rabbi Dr Deborah Kahn-Harris, Rabbi Danny Rich, Debbie Tal-Ruettger and Mark Konczaty.

2. Welcome by EUPJ Chair

The Chair welcomed all to the meeting, and thanked members of Beth Hillel and IJC for their hospitality. She also thanked Gilbert Lederman for all the work he and his team had put into planning and organising the weekend in Brussels. The Chair advised that the meeting was a special European Assembly meeting called for the specific purpose of electing and appointing people to certain offices. The Notice calling this meeting (the Notice) was sent to all EUPJ Members on 6 September 2018, as required by the EUPJ Constitution in these circumstances. She stated that as there was limited time for the meeting any other matters would be held over to the 2019 Annual European Assembly.

3. Elections and Appointments to Office

The Chair referred to the Notice and confirmed that the meeting had been called for the specific purpose of electing a Vice-Chairman and two Vice-Presidents.

(a) Vice-Chairman – The Chair advised that Rabbi Menno ten Brink was co-opted onto the EUPJ Management Committee (ManCom) in terms of Section 7.3 of the Constitution by ManCom at its meeting held on 9 May 2018, with the responsibility for Education & Interfaith. The EUPJ Executive Board (Board), at its meeting held on 12 July 2018, unanimously ratified that co-option and recommended that Rabbi ten Brink become a Vice-Chairman.

The Chair therefore proposed to the meeting that Rabbi Menno ten Brink be elected as Vice-Chairman – Education & Interfaith in terms of Section 7.2.3.3 of the Constitution. Miriam Kramer proposed the resolution and it was seconded by Robert Weiner. The Chair stated that, as this was an unopposed election, rather than asking for a formal vote the election be made by acclamation together. On the basis of the acclamation received, the Chair declared Rabbi Menno ten Brink duly elected to that position.

(b) Vice-Presidents - The Chair reminded the meeting that Miriam Kramer was currently a member of the Board in term of Section 6.1.2 of the Constitution and that Robert Weiner was currently a member of the Board in terms of Section 6.1.5 of the Constitution.

She advised the meeting that the Board has nominated both Miriam Kramer and Robert Weiner to the position of Vice-President in terms of Section 10 of the Constitution. She then pointed out that Section 10.2 of the Constitution (read with Section 9.1 of the Constitution) provides that when a nomination for a Vice-President is made, notice of this nomination must be sent out 2 months before the meeting and alternate nominations may be submitted not less than 1 month prior to the date of the meeting. She reported that the Notice was sent out at least 2 months before the meeting date and that no alternate nominations were received.

She therefore proposed that Miriam Kramer and Robert Weiner be elected as Vice-Presidents of the EUPJ. Jesse Weil proposed the resolution and it was seconded by John Clark. Again, the Chair suggested that rather than asking for a formal vote, the elections be made by acclamation. On the basis of the acclamations received, the Chair declared Miriam Kramer and Robert Weiner duly elected as EUPJ Vice-Presidents.

(c) Periods of Office - The Chair advised the meeting that, in order that the periods of office of Menno, Miriam and Robert end at an EUPJ Annual European Assembly and so that they coincide with the terms of office of people appointed to positions on the Board and ManCom at the European Assembly held on 29 April 2018, she proposed that the terms of office of Rabbi Menno ten Brink, Miriam Kramer and Robert Weiner shall commence on 11 November 2018 and end on the date of the EUPJ Annual European Assembly to be held in 2020. Gordon Smith proposed the resolution and it was seconded by John Cohen and all present approved the resolution.

4. Any Other Business

The Chairman advised that the Honorary Secretary had not been notified by any Member within the relevant time period of any matter or issue to put before the European Assembly and that the time allocated to the meeting had expired.

The Chair then thanked John Cohen, Deborah Grabiner (the EUPJ Administrator) and the team at Beth Hillel/IJC for all their work. She also urged anyone with any questions or queries to contact the EUPJ Management Committee. The Chair declared the meeting closed at 13H20.

									,				•		•										•				•								,													,							,											
(_	,	I	_	١	١	ć	=	1	l	i	ľ		ì		1	-	1	ć	9	ı	ı	r	١	١	(C	2)	f	:	I	r	1	1	ļ	6	=	,	E	9	,	1	t	i	ì	-	١	(C	ו	١																