European Union for Progressive Judaism

Sternberg Centre for Judaism, 80 East End Road, London, N3 2SY United Kingdom

www.eupj.org

Drs. Charles Michel President of the European Council Rue de la Loi/Wetstraat 175 B-1048 Bruxelles/Brussel Belgique/België

3rd November 2023

Dear Drs Michel.

Thank you very much for all you and the Member States of the European Union have done so far to support European Jewish communities in the aftermath of the October 7th terror attacks on Israel and innocent Israeli citizens, men, women and children, by Hamas.

Writing on behalf of more than 170 member congregations of the European Union for Progressive Judaism, across Europe. We ask you to please pass on to the European Heads of State our urgent request to their governments to act immediately and decisively to secure the safe release of all hostages held in Gaza irrespective of their nationalities. As surely all heads of state will be aware, that the act of taking civilians as hostages is considered an exceptionally serious war crime and a violation of the principles and rules of basic international law applicable in armed conflict.

It must therefore be the clear priority of all actors exerting influence on the situation in the Middle East to ensure that all hostages are brought home safely without delay.

Until their release can be secured, we urge you to demand that the International Red Cross be granted access to all hostages to verify their well-being.

Judaism sanctifies life, please support our urgent request.

Yours faithfully,

Rabbi Lea Mühlstein Chair EUPJ

Rabbi Sylvia Rothschild

Chair European Rabbinic Assembly

Tourste.

CC: Katharina Von Schnurbein

Rabbi Menno ten Brink
Chair EUPJ Foundation

European Union for Progressive

Judaism Foundation

1079 RK Amsterdam

The Netherlands

www.eupi.eu

Zuidelijke Wandelweg 41

ERA EUPJ Rabbinic Assembly
80 rue des Primeurs
1190 Bruxelles
Belgium
www.eupj-ra.eu



President: Miriam Kramer

Miriam Kramer miriam.kramer@eupj.org

Chair EUPJ: Rabbi Lea Mühlstein lea.muehlstein@eupj.org

Chair EUPJ Foundation Rabbi Menno ten Brink menno.ten.brink@eupj.eu

Honorary Life Presidents: Leslie F Bergman Rabbi Dr Andrew Goldstein Rabbi Menno ten Brink

