EUPJ appoints a new Board

At its Annual Assembly on 31st August 2023, the European Union for Progressive Judaism (EUPJ) agreed a change of leadership.
Rabbi Lea Mühlstein, immediate past chair of Arzenu, was chosen to chair EUPJ.  Born and raised in Germany, Rabbi Mühlstein has spent most of her adult life in the UK. After a previous career as a scientist, she was ordained in 2012 from Leo Baeck College and is currently one of the Senior Rabbis at The Ark Synagogue on the outskirts of London. In addition to her deep commitment to world Jewry, she is a proud Reform Zionist and active in interfaith dialogue. Rabbi Mühlstein said: “I am excited to take on the leadership of the EUPJ and look forward to supporting our communities across Europe, both large and small, to strengthen Progressive Judaism and ensure that the distinct voice of Progressive Judaism is taken into account in the national debates in all European countries.

She succeeds Miriam Kramer, who has been chosen to serve as President.  She said “I am delighted that Rabbi Muehlstein will lead the EUPJ. With her experience chairing Arzenu she has the necessary skills and understanding to lead an international organisation.”

(L to R) Miriam Kramer, EUPJ President and Rabbi Lea Mühlstein, EUPJ Chair

Other appointments to the Management Committee are

  • Jonathan Eaton (The Netherlands), Vice Chair Governance
  • Pierre Elkaim (France), Vice Chair Finance
  • Ian Lancaster (UK), Vice Chair UK Progressive Liaison
  • Ben Fantini (Italy), Vice Chair Israel
  • Dominika Zakrzewska (Poland), Vice Chair Communications
  • Rabbi Alexander Grodensky (Luxembourg), Vice Chair Interfaith
  • Rabbi Sylvia Rothschild (UK), Chair European Rabbinic Assembly
  • Rabbi Dr Jackie Tabick (UK), Convenor European Beit Din

EUPJ is one of seven regions of the World Union for Progressive Judaism.  There are some 1.8 million members in more than 40 countries, and it is the world’s largest Jewish religious organisation.

For further information please contact

More News